Fundamentals

CSR has become
a major challenge

CSR has become a major challenge for companies or organizations of all types and sizes; this applies internally and for their external stakeholders. It is now essential to build trust, by bringing credibility and transparency to sustainable initiatives, with its employees, customers, suppliers, partners, creditors and investors. In order to succeed, the companies must provide the guarantee of strong commitments, through clear and traceable processes, within the respect of various and heterogeneous regulations in terms of CSR.

Globalization leads to tremendous complexity and a significant source of pressure

It must be acknowledged that globalization has caused a fragmentation of value chains. The operations of design, procurement logistics, manufacturing of a product or service providing, can be distributed and organized over several countries, or even continents, before even speaking of the distribution of the end product or of a service. As a result, this leads to complexity and a source of significant pressure for any manager or decision-maker, in the perspective of commercial collaborations, financing or investment choices.

Building an ethically strong brand is a moral obligation

Building a strong brand, without compromise in terms of ethical, social and environmental risks, within an approach of continuous improvement, is a moral obligation for companies and organizations, of today and tomorrow. It is precisely on this principle that the international repository for the CSR governance and the ESG 1000 certification are based.

Repository

ESG 1000 is based on the evaluation of the CSR management systems of economic entities (companies or organizations of any type), in particular through the analysis of their governance structures and the CSR initiatives undertaken, on the basis of risks mapping, clearly identified and compared to universal sectoral benchmarks.

ESG 1000 is intended to be a simple, clear and transparent approach. The objective aims to a sectoral standardization of CSR evaluation criteria, in order to unify international recommendations and regulations, through an upward leveling of the various practices adopted on a large scale. This approach makes it possible to identify committed actors wishing to participate in collective efforts in terms of sustainable development.

The CSR challenges that the ESG 1000 standard addresses :

01

The 17 objectives to address the challenges of globalization

The 17 objectives to address the challenges of globalization

In September 2015, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), as part of the "Agenda 2030", were unanimously adopted by the 197 member countries of the United Nations. These objectives shape a new development paradigm that aims to be universal, inclusive and sustainable, taking into account, in an integrated and interdependent manner, the social, economic and environmental dimensions. The objective of the ESG 1000 standard is therefore to address them individually and to ensure that companies certified to this Standard present real guarantees of commitment and contribution.

CSR policies: a generator of growth and a source of opportunity and attractiveness

CSR or sustainable development in general, could be perceived as a constraint, generated by the pressure from public opinion or governments. In reality, there is no contradiction between CSR and economic performance, quite the contrary. The CSR approach of a company must therefore be transformed into opportunity and become a growth-generating factor. CSR performance is indeed a key success factor for any organization.

02

CSR policies: a generator of growth and a source of opportunity and attractiveness

03

Competitive development through a so-called, sustainable business model

Competitive development through a so-called, sustainable business model

Succeeding to grow without increasing environmental impacts is a sustainable development challenge. In particular, it is a question of achieving this in a spirit of fairness, through a redistribution of benefits to the four major stakeholders directly concerned: investors, customers, employees and civil society. In the same way, all the companies which associate “sustainability” on their policy and strategy, as a key factor of success, are those which will prosper in the future. Indeed, it has been demonstrated that the so-called “sustainable” business model is not only a question of compliance or regulation, but a real opportunity to create long-term value

Build a resilient organization through management of the risks and of the operational impacts

Raising awareness and understanding of your own risk mapping (in terms of: human rights, environmental, climate, business conduct, information system security, etc.) and its scope, taking into account the "Sector/Country" couple (multi-territoriality)”, makes it possible to build a resilient structure by developing its own monitoring and warning systems, and by anticipating faults and malfunctions to come.

04

Build a resilient organization through management of the risks and of the operational impacts

05

Economic viability and CSR performance, two interrelated principles

Economic viability and CSR performance, two interrelated principles

It is equally important that a company be both: part of a sustainable and committed approach, while being economically viable and sustainable. Economic viability is measured through satisfactory financial results and tangible impacts. This is why the quality of a company's financial management and the relationship established between economic performance and CSR performance is a requirement of Standard ESG 1000; with regard to current challenges: economic, environmental and social.

Standardization of ESG criteria

In view of the regulatory avalanche that is recently looming, particularly in terms of climate and sustainable development, most economic and financial players are advocating greater standardization of the approaches adopted. Standardization is not opposed to innovation, quite the opposite, it makes it possible to centralize and facilitate access to data, allowing companies to focus fully on their activity and the products or services offered; particularly in view of increasingly demanding consumers, themselves concerned by environmental, societal and ethical challenges.

06

Standardization of ESG criteria

07

Involvement of all stakeholders of the value chain

Involvement of all stakeholders of the value chain

Supporting dialogue and mutual commitments, with all stakeholders, must be at the heart of a company's CSR strategy, in order to maximize the achievement of established objectives. This makes it possible to find solutions to the identified CSR challenges in conjunction with the direct ecosystem, in order to offer products and/or services that are truly adapted to the needs of the market; while controlling their environmental, societal and ethical impact.

Why get certified ESG 1000 ?

Achieving ESG 1000 certification is becoming a strategic step and an essential component in the life of a company, for the following reasons:

  • Structure and improve a CSR approach;
  • Validate a status of CSR compliance through an external audit, in order to respond to the collaboration policies of your customers, suppliers, partners, investors, creditors ;
  • Meet the obligations defined by regulators and comply with regulatory and market constraints ;
  • Integrate within a dynamic of sustainable growth, a company concerned about its environment ;
  • Become a committed company and engage in a virtuous circle of continuous improvement ;
  • Gain in attractiveness and competitiveness, through a strong competitive advantage.

Advantages for a company to be certified

  • Promote the compliance of extra-financial governance
  • Make a positive impact of general interest
  • Consolidate attractiveness and maintain its brand image
  • Identify and control over time and in a preventive manner, the CSR risks inherent in the activity
  • Make informed decisions
  • Strengthen ties with stakeholders of its ecosystem
  • Strengthen its ability to attract and increase loyalty of its employees, customers, suppliers, shareholders, creditors, donors and investors
  • Increase the chances of success for equity, fundraising or IPO operations; trough a strong argument for the contractors
  • Benefit from a competitive advantage

Scientific committee

Born from a general interest initiative and initially supported by civil society, the ESG 1000 standard is validated by a scientific committee of experts.

The ESG 1000 committee is made up of skills and international experts in: social, societal and environmental policies.

Fondamentaux

La RSE est devenue
un enjeu majeur

La RSE est devenue un enjeu majeur pour les entreprises ou organisations, de tout type et de toute taille ; cela est valable en interne et pour leurs parties prenantes. Il est désormais indispensable de bâtir la confiance, en apportant crédibilité et transparence aux initiatives durables, auprès de ses collaborateurs, clients, fournisseurs, partenaires, créanciers et investisseurs. Pour y parvenir, les structures doivent fournir la garantie d'engagements forts, à travers des procédés clairs et traçable, dans le respect des règlementations diverses et hétérogènes, en matière de RSE.

La mondialisation engendre une grande complexité

Force est de constater que la mondialisation a provoqué une fragmentation des chaînes de valeur. Les opérations de conception, de logistique d’approvisionnement, de fabrication d'un produit ou de mise à disposition d’un service, peuvent être réparties et organisées dans plusieurs pays, voir continents, avant même de parler de la distribution du produit fini ou du service. Par voie de conséquence, cela engendre une complexité et une source de pression importante pour tout dirigeant ou décisionnaire, en prévision des choix de collaboration commerciale, de financement ou d’investissement.

Construire une marque éthiquement forte est une obligation morale

Construire une marque forte, sans compromis en matière de risques éthiques, sociaux et environnementaux, dans une démarche d’amélioration continue, est une obligation morale pour les entreprises et organisations, d’aujourd’hui et de demain. C’est précisément sur ce principe que se fonde le référentiel international de la gouvernance RSE, avec la certification ESG 1000.

Référentiel

ESG 1000 repose sur l’évaluation des systèmes de mangement RSE des entités économiques (entreprises ou organisation de tout type), notamment à travers l’analyse de leurs structures de gouvernance et les démarches RSE engagées, sur la base d’une cartographie des risques clairement identifiés et comparés à des référents sectoriels universels.

ESG 1000 se veut une démarche simple, claire et transparente. L’objectif est une standardisation sectorielle des critères d’évaluation ESG, de nature à unifier les recommandations et réglementations internationales, à travers un nivèlement vers le haut des différentes pratiques adoptées à grande échelle. Cette approche permet d’identifier les acteurs engagés souhaitant participer aux efforts collectifs en matière de développement durable.

Les défis RSE que le standard ESG 1000 relève :

01

Les 17 objectifs pour répondre aux défis de la mondialisation

Les 17 objectifs pour répondre aux défis de la mondialisation

En septembre 2015, les Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD), dans le cadre de l’« Agenda 2030 », ont été adoptés à l’unanimité par les 197 pays membres des Nations Unies. Ces objectifs traduisent les contours d’un nouveau paradigme de développement qui se veut universel, inclusif et durable, prenant en compte, de manière intégrée et interdépendante, les dimensions sociale, économique et environnementale. L’objectif du référentiel ESG 1000 est donc de les adresser individuellement et s’assurer que les entreprises certifiées à ce Standard, présentent des garanties réelles d’engagement et de contribution.

Les politiques RSE : un générateur de croissance et une source d’opportunité et d’attractivité.

La RSE ou de manière générale le développement durable, peuvent être perçus comme une contrainte, engendrée par la pression de l’opinion publique ou des gouvernements. En réalité, la RSE et la performance économique, ne sont pas antinomiques, bien au contraire. La démarche RSE d’une entreprise doit donc être transformée en une opportunité et devenir un facteur générateur de croissance. La performance RSE est en effet un facteur clé de succès pour toute entité.

02

Les politiques RSE : un générateur de croissance et une source d’opportunité et d’attractivité.

03

Développement compétitif à travers un business model dit « durable »

Développement compétitif à travers un business model dit « durable »

Réussir à croître sans augmenter les atteintes à l’environnement est un enjeu du développement durable. Il s’agit notamment de réussir cela dans un esprit d’équité, à travers une redistribution des bénéfices envers les quatre grandes parties prenantes directement concernées : les investisseurs, les clients, les salariés et la société civile. De la même manière, toutes les entreprises qui associent “durabilité” sur leur politique et stratégie, comme un facteur clé de réussite, sont celles qui prospéreront dans le futur. En effet, il est démontré qu’un business model dit « durable », n’est pas seulement une question de conformité ou de réglementation, mais une véritable opportunité de créer de la valeur à long terme.

Bâtir une structure résiliente à travers une maitrise des risques et des impacts opérationnels

Prendre conscience et connaissance, de sa propre cartographie de risques (en termes de : droit humains, environnemental, climatique, conduite des affaires, sécurité système d’information, etc. ) et de son étendue, prenant en compte le couple « Secteur/Pays (multi territorialité) », permet de bâtir une structure résiliente en développant ses propres points de vigilance et d’alerte, et en anticipant les failles et les disfonctionnements à venir.

04

Bâtir une structure résiliente à travers une maitrise des risques et des impacts opérationnels

05

Viabilité économique et performance RSE, deux principes interdépendants

Viabilité économique et performance RSE, deux principes interdépendants

Il est tout aussi important qu’une entreprise soit à la fois inscrite dans une démarche durable et engagée, tout en étant économiquement viable et pérenne. La viabilité économique est mesurée à travers des résultats financiers satisfaisants et des impacts tangibles. C’est la raison pour laquelle, la qualité de la gestion financière d’une entreprise et le rapport établi entre la performance économique et la performance RSE, constitue une exigence du Standard ESG 1000 ; au regard des enjeux actuels : économiques, environnementaux et sociaux.

Standardisation des critères ESG

Face à l’avalanche réglementaire qui se profile, notamment en matière climatique et de développement durable, la plupart des acteurs économiques et financiers prônent une plus large standardisation des approches adoptées. La standardisation ne s’oppose pas à l’innovation, mais au contraire, elle permet de centraliser et de faciliter l’accès aux données, pour laisser les entreprises se concentrer pleinement sur leur activité et les produits ou services offerts ; notamment face à des consommateurs de plus en plus exigeants, eux-mêmes concernés par les défis environnementaux, sociétaux et éthiques.

06

Standardisation des critères ESG

07

Implication de toutes les parties prenantes de la chaine de valeurs

Implication de toutes les parties prenantes de la chaine de valeurs

Instaurer un dialogue et des engagements mutuels, avec l’ensemble des parties prenantes, doit être au cœur de la stratégie RSE d’une entreprise, afin de maximiser l’atteinte des objectifs préétablis. Cela permet de trouver des solutions aux problématiques RSE identifiées, en concertation avec l’écosystème direct, pour proposer des produits et/ou des services réellement adaptés aux besoins du marché; tout en maitrisant leur impact environnemental, sociétal et éthique.

Pourquoi se faire certifier ESG 1000 ?

Obtenir la certification ESG 1000 devient une étape stratégique et une composante essentielle et incontournable, de la vie d’une entreprise, pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Structurer et améliorer une démarche RSE ;
  • Valider un état de conformité en matière RSE à travers un audit externe, pour répondre aux politiques de collaboration de vos clients, fournisseurs, partenaires, investisseurs, créanciers ;
  • Répondre aux obligations définies par les régulateurs et se conformer aux contraintes réglementaires et de marché ;
  • Inscrire une société soucieuse de son environnement dans une dynamique de croissance durable ;
  • Devenir une entreprise engagée et entrer dans un cercle vertueux d’amélioration continue ;
  • Gagner en attractivité et en compétitivité, à travers un avantage concurrentiel fort.

Avantages pour une entreprise d’être certifiée

  • Valoriser la conformité de la gouvernance extra-financière
  • Créer un impact positif d’intérêt général
  • Consolider l’attractivité et entretenir son image de marque
  • Identifier et maitriser dans le temps et de façon préventive les risques RSE inhérents à l’activité
  • Prendre des décisions éclairées
  • Renforcer les liens avec les parties prenantes issues de son écosystème
  • Renforcer sa capacité d’attirer et de fidéliser ses employés, clients, fournisseurs, actionnaires, créanciers, bailleurs et investisseurs
  • Faciliter la réussite des opérations de haut de bilan, levée de fonds ou introduction en Bourse ; par un argument fort et impactant, pour les donneurs d’ordres
  • Bénéficier d’un avantage concurrentiel

Comité scientifique

Né d’une initiative d’intérêt général et porté initialement par la société civile, le standard ESG 1000 est validé par un comité d’experts.

Le comité ESG 1000 est composé de compétences et d’experts internationaux en matière de : politiques sociales, sociétales et environnementales.